Broward_County,_Florida_LogoEstimated Population in 2010: 1,748,066
1,323 Square Miles
Median Income per Household: $41,691
County Seat: Fort Lauderdale, FL
View More Information at


Broward County was founded in 1915. It was named for Napoleon Bonaparte Broward, Governor of Florida from 1905 to 1909. It was originally intended to be named Everglades County, but then-Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives Ion Farris amended the bill that established the county to be named after Broward.[3] In 1915, Palm Beach County and Dade County contributed nearly equal portions of land to create Broward County. At its inception Broward County was considered a leader in agricultural products and services within the State of Florida, but the massive post-World War II build-up of South Florida transformed the region. It was one of the counties at the center of the 2000 U.S. Presidential election recount controversy.



City of Coconut Creek
City of Cooper City
City of Coral Springs
City of Dania Beach
Town of Davie
City of Deerfield Beach
City of Fort Lauderdale
City of Hallandale Beach
Town of Hillsboro Beach
City of Hollywood
City of Lauderdale Lakes
Town of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
City of Lauderhill
Village of Lazy Lake
City of Lighthouse Point
City of Margate

City of Miramar
City of North Lauderdale
City of Oakland Park
City of Parkland
Town of Pembroke Park
City of Pembroke Pines
City of Plantation
City of Pompano Beach
Village of Sea Ranch Lakes
Town of Southwest Ranches
City of Sunrise
City of Tamarac
City of West Park
City of Weston
City of Wilton Manors


Boulevard Gardens
Broadview Park
Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport
Franklin Park
Hillsboro Pines
Roosevelt Gardens
Washington Park